The KISS

TGIF! Yah…I love Fridays. The thought of going to bed without having to worry about waking up early in order to bit the crazy traffic, or what to wear to work,  just makes me so happy. I can sleep as late as I want, have fun with the girls and then sleep in on Saturday, now that’s the life..lol.

Now back to the matter at hand. I have been avoiding Jamal since the near-kiss a few days ago. Whenever I sight him from afar, I just enter the nearest office or run into the restroom. At the general meeting the today, I made sure I sat at the end of the room, he kept throwing glances my way as he spoke, I just kept scribbling on my book like I was taking notes but I just wanted to seem busy.After the meeting, I made sure I waited for him to leave before I did. As I stepped out of the door, a very familiar voice said, “hello Mimi. I stopped dead in my tracks as I noticed him leaning against the wall. “Good day Jamal” I responded, in my most serious professional tone. “He chuckled, “have you been avoiding me”? he asked. “Of course not”, I responded instantly, but I knew my face was telling a different story. “I have had a lot to do, plus I have been preparing for the media campaign you suggested and umm….”And you have not come in to ask any questions? or like I said, you have been avoiding me, “he supplied, as he cut me short. “I have not had any questions”, I responded, Obinna has been a lot of help and I have had lots of people helping too. “Obinna”? he said, with this look on his face, as if he were suddenly jealous. “Hmmm, I see”, he continued, anyway, I just wanted to make sure you were okay, and carrying along well, but from the look of things you are. “I am”, I responded, he was looking at me as if he could read my mind.

Jamal wasn’t sure what was wrong with him. He got jealous at the thought of an employee helping her. He knew she has been avoiding him, he would always see her disappear into the nearest office whenever he saw him approaching. Today at the meeting he couldn’t keep his eyes off her, she was wearing a floral pink top and white pants, she looked so pretty and girly, her hair was packed up in a bum which brought out her face, her doe-shaped eyes, and her kissable lips. She was looking so lovely. “I have a meeting with the graphics guys”, I said, I have to go. “Okay, Jamal responded, standing up properly, “I am still here when you need any help”. “We would be having dinner with some of our top clients today, I hope you will be joining us? You can bring a guest too”. “How he makes an order sound like an invitation”, I thought. “I  will be coming”, I responded. “Okay then, see you there”, he said and walked away.

I was angry and anxious at the same time. I was supposed to be having drinks with the girls later, now I am supposed to be having dinner with the boss. The first thing I thought of was what to wear, lol. I love dressing up, not just dressing up, I love looking good. I called Dami and Mandy to tell them about the latest development, they teased me about making sure it was just work, at which I just laughed and told them it was.

I left the office 30mins early to go home and get ready for the dinner. It was for 7pm and I decided to wipe the smirk off Jamal’s face by bringing a plus one, Afterall he said I could. I brought out my short sleeveless button down nude dress my aunt gave me for my last birthday. I’ve worn it once and it really looked good on me. I matched it with a black 3inch gladiator sandals and a black clutch purse. I went into the bathroom, brushed my teeth and took a long hot shower, I ordered for a taxi once I got out of the bathroom via the really good taxi app that my friend referred me to named Afro Passenger from play store, their cars were really good.  I looked at the mirror once more, touched up my powder and took a selfie before heading down, my taxi was already waiting.

I got to the restaurant in good time. Jamal looked up as I walked towards the table, I noticed he was looking am me with admiration and he hadn’t noticed the person walking beside me. He stood up as I reached the table and said “Hello everyone”. He introduced me to everyone and in turn, I introduced Saliu to everyone. I sat down and lifted my face, my eyes met with Jamal’s who was looking at me with an evil glint in his eyes, I quickly removed my eyes and tried to focus on Saliu  who was trying to pour me a drink. But Jamal was looking too good in his black shirt, he left a few buttons open the reveal a well-toned skin. I dragged my eyes away and tried to answer a client who was asking me a question.The dinner wasn’t so boring after all. The food was great and the conversation flowed quite easily. I excused myself and stood up to use the restroom and make a brief phone call. I called Dami from the restroom to inform her that I will be with them shortly. As I stepped out of the door, I collided with Jamal, who just seemed to be standing there like a brick wall. “We really have to stop meeting like this,” I said as I regained my stance. Before I could finish my statement, he just bent his head and shut me up with an earth shattering kiss, my lips parted unconsciously and he deepened the kiss, I felt my toes curl inside my shoes, he hand drew me nearer as his tongue found mine, tremors ran through my body. I felt like putting my hands inside his shirt, my whole body was tingling, then I remembered Saliu who was seated outside waiting for me. I instantly drew back and  pushed at his chest, he stopped and raised his head, his eyes were so dark and he was looking at me like he wanted to eat me.He opened his mouth to say something before he could get it out, I turned around and fled, again.

 

3 thoughts on “The KISS

Leave a Reply

