A Penny For My Thoughts

I kept rehearsing my apology in my head over and over again all day, I stared at papers and my laptop screen but my mind kept going back to Jamal. I didn’t feel like facing him but I knew I had to, I had said a little bit too much. I waited till I was sure his PA had left for the day before I entered his office. I knew he was working late because his car was still parked outside. It was almost 6:00pm, I was tired and a bit hungry since I didn’t eat much at lunch. I shut down my laptop, brought out my small compact powder from my purse to touch up my face, when I was done, I carried my bag and headed for Jamal’s office.

I knocked on his door and waited, I knocked again as he didn’t respond, I wondered if I had made a mistake by coming now, maybe I should have waited until tomorrow. The door was thrown open as I was debating whether to go or stay. I was caught off guard, I muttered a slightly shaky hello as he blocked the door with his body. “How may I help you Miss Ossai”, he began looking so intimidating. I could see he wasn’t going to make this easy for me. “I would like to talk to you” I responded as I tried to avoid his gaze, “I  would like to apologize for my outburst this morning, I didn’t mean what I said, I was just caught unawares. “Really? he paused briefly as he arched his eyebrow, “you didn’t mean it all?” he asked. “Yes, I said, I didn’t mean it”. He turned and walked into the office, leaving me standing in the doorway. “I will accept your apology on one condition”, he said as he sat down on the couch. I walked in and waved me to sit beside him. “What condition?” I asked. “I have a black tie even tomorrow at the Civic Centre, you will be my date”, he stated. I thought about it, I didn’t feel like arguing so I just accepted.

Jamal knew he was going to win without any arguement, the look on her face when he walked away from her office this morning was like she wanted to cry. So he decided to push it a little and guilt her into accepting. He wasn’t going to let her get off that easy. I decided it was time to leave, I yawned as I reach for my bag. “Hungry?, he asked, I ordered a bucket of chicken from Chicken republic, will be here in a few minutes if you want to join me”. I was so hungry, I gladly accepted. The chicken came in a few minutes like he predicted. We both devoured the chicken in a matter of minutes, turns out we were both starving. We looked at each other with the last bone of chicken in our hands and the looked at empty bucket and both burst out in laughter. “Damn girl, you can eat”, he said admist laughter. “I was hungry I said in a defensive done”. We talked and laughed as he packed up to go, he offered to drop me off at home which I eagerly accepted.

We got to the front of my gate, he slowed down and I reached over at the backseat to get my handbag. “I had a good time this evening, for once we didn’t argue”, he said. I smiled, I had thought the same thing in my head a few minutes ago. For the first time I initiated the kiss, I couldn’t resist, he was looking so handsome. When I ended it and opened the car door and stepped out, he had the look on his face and I could help but wink at him as I turned and entered into the compound. I don’t know what possessed me, but I felt really good. I couldn’t wait for the event tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

